6 Great Books to Read this Fall

One of my favorite things to do in the fall is read a good spooky story based in New England, so I’m sharing six of my favorite fall New England reads with you.  These are just a few of the books I’ve read over the years, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.  Happy reading!

*This post includes affiliate links. All opinions on the products listed are solely mine and are based on my personal experiences.

New England Fall Reads

The Sparrow Sisters by Ellen Herrick
The Sparrow Sisters takes place in the quaint New England town of Granite point. It’s about three close sisters, Nettie, Patience and Sorrel who serve the town through their natural herbal remedies they grown in their garden. The townspeople love Patience because of her healing ability, until Patience sees herself in the middle of a tragedy involving a little boy from town.  The tragedy brings her to a dark place and mystically kills her herb garden and her relationship with the townspeople. A great book for fans of Alice Hoffman and Sarah Addison Allen.

 

Passing Strange: True Tales of New England Hauntings and Horrors by Joseph A. Citro
Read mysterious and haunting tales from all six of New England’s states. These short stories will take you back, many, many years to old spooky folklore tales that give New England part of its unique history. The stories are enough to give you a good little fright, so it’s a great book for some late night campfire reads!

 

 

Candy Corn Murder by Leslie Meyer (Lucy Stone book #22)
Leslie Meyer’s Lucy Stone books are starting to become one of my new favs. Set in the town of Tinker’s Cove, ME, the main character, Lucy Stone, is a reporter for the local town paper, the Pennysaver, and always finds herself in the middle of a murder mystery. Candy Corn Murder is a great book to read to get you in the fall spirt because it’s time for the town’s annual Giant Pumpkin Festival and the much anticipated pumpkin catapult. Lucy’s husband, Bill, and his friend Evan entered the catapult, but on the day of the contest, Evan goes missing and Bill becomes a suspect in his disappearance. If you’re looking for a light, cozy mystery read, this one is for you!

 

Ghostly Paws by Leighann Dobbs  Ghostly Paws is the first book in the Mystic Notch series. The book is set in Mystic Notch, a town in the White Mountains of New Hampshire, and the main character, Willa, is a former crime journalist, turned bookstore owner. When the town librarian, Lavinia, is murdered, Lavinia’s ghost enlists Willa to find her killer (with a little help from a few cats)! It’s a cute and funny light read that’s perfect if you like a quick cozy mystery.

 

 

Salem Falls by Jodi Picoult
I love reading books that are set in New England, so I picked up Jodi Picoult’s Salem Falls – one of her best books, in my opinion. The book takes place in the town of Salem Falls, where Jack St. Bride arrives after a scandal involving a former player at an all-girls prep school where he taught and coached soccer. But no sooner than he gets settled in Salem Falls, he finds himself involved in yet another scandal with some teenage witches, and the town of Salem Falls gets turned upside down. Salem Falls is a twisted story, but intriguing and a page turner. Read this one if you’ve always wanted to visit Salem because of its witch history.

 

Vampires, Bones and Treacle Scones by Kaitlyn Dunnett
When I was growing up there was an old abandoned Victorian house that I swore was haunted. I even wrote a spooky Halloween story about it. When I saw the synopsis on this book, I knew I had to read it this season. Halloween is coming up in Moosetookalook, Maine, and Liss MacCrimmon is organizing her community’s haunted house in an old abandoned mansion, the only problem is, the house already seems haunted and Liss finds one of her family members lying dead in the mansion. Now she has to figure out why her relative was killed – was it because of the old town tale of the buried treasure in the basement? If a good old abandon mansion leaves you curious and searching for ghosts, this one is for you.

 

Another good spooky read that isn’t based in New England….

Phantom Evil by Heather Graham
When I read that this book involved ghosts of the New Orleans French Quarter, I had to read it, and I I’m happy I did. A government team gets called to investigate a murder and paranormal activity in the home of a senator whose wife just fell to her death from the balcony of their French Quarter home, and ghosts are the main suspects in the murder. It’s a great read to cozy up on the couch with on a damp and rainy New England day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *